Valentine’s Lovers

“I know the Bible says to not awaken love until the time is right… awaken my Love, the time is now.”

The girl rolled over from the mini-couch, her first 4 hours of sleep in 3 days and with glazed eyes and a raspy voice responds, “huh.”

“I know the Bible says to not awaken love until the time is right… awaken my Love, the time is now.”

Rubbing the crusties out of her eyes, she responds with a throaty, “huh.”

“I know the Bible says to not awaken love until the time is right… awaken my love, the time is now.”

That is the scene I was standing in at about 5am Valentine’s morning.  The “time is now” meant, time to clear the others out of the room and let love do what it does.  Love is there when one is fighting cancer, going through chemo and radiation simultaneously.  Love dresses wounds (and bodies), it comforts pain, it helps one use the restroom, and it lays down its life for another.  And that’s the clean version.

You may have read about these Superheroes in a previous post.

https://girlandboystories.wordpress.com/2012/11/21/sometimes-beauty-can-only-be-seen-through-the-lens-of-pain/

Well, they are back at it.  Or still at I should say.  Phrases such as, “Let’s take our benadryl’s together like Romeo and Juliet” reverberate the room in the moments of awareness.  Love stays awake through the night (again) with her reasoning of, “I was concerned you would choke on your secretions.”

The male Lover gets his mind stuck on meatloaf.  No, Meatloaf.  He speaks aloud, “What Meatloaf won’t do for love?……  That.  Hahahahahah.”  “I’m making that T-shirt.” “What Meatloaf won’t do for love?  ….  That.”   …… He continues with his bride sitting next to him, ”Why isn’t anyone else finding out what Meatloaf won’t do for love?!  …Well, I searched the globe to see what Meatlof would not do.  And he’s not the man I am, because I would do that.”

“I love you.  Happy Valentine’s Day.”

And when someone truly loves, they love.  It’s not just a love for a special someone.  It’s love for people – because everyone is special.  It’s a heart that overflows in love.  The male Lover continues amidst a stupor caused by various mixed drugs and asks a question, “The woman next door screaming nonstop through the night – is she going crazy or is she in pain?  I would like to know how to pray for her.”

A true love between a man and woman can be beautiful and rare while a true love between man and stranger might be all the more rare.

“Awaken my love, the time to love is now!”

Angie and Will Hands

One thought on “Valentine’s Lovers

  1. Pingback: Love, like, really really Love | girlandboystories

Leave a Reply

