Do you know what I went through just to dial your number?!

Girls wonder why we don’t just call them and ask them out.  It’s not that easy.

98 degrees once said, “It’s the hardest thing I’ll ever have to do, to look you in the eye and tell you I don’t love you.” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7u02MhWROV8

They could be right.

But there is something else that is almost just as difficult.

That is simply calling the girl in the first place.

I remember the first time I called a girl.  It was in 5th grade.  She was my first girlfriend.  I thought I should call her because that’s what a boyfriend should do.  I also never talked to her at school because I thought that was what I should do too.  So I flirted with her friends during the day and then called her once a month.

I would wait till I was home alone and I would go into my parent’s room where they had a phone with buttons.  The one in the kitchen was a rotary (you may or may not know what that is).  I would dial about 4 of the 7 numbers and then freeze.  I’d get to 5 numbers and hold until the dial-tone started beeping.  I would sit on their bed wondering what I would say.  And then I would do it.  I would dial all 7 numbers, let it ring once, and hang up.

I’m 30 years old now and not a lot has changed.

I decide I am interested in getting to know a girl.  You know, after doing the group thing, the text thing, I figure I should probably call her.

This is where the nerves kick in.

I start debating it in my mind for maybe a week or two if I should make the call.  I mean, it changes everything.  At least in my mind.  And this debate is usually a good thing because soon I can’t debate it much longer or I will go crazy so I decide I must call.

Often a good day to make the call is on a Saturday.  That gives me a whole day.  I spend the morning pacing outside my apartment complex with the phone in hand.  I try to call but it’s too hard.  I pace back and forth until I have somewhere to be.  And then I send a text.  I’ll try again later.

Later in the day, I get ready again.  I grab my phone.

I rehearse both scenarios.  What will I say if she answers?  What will I say if it’s her voicemail?

I rehearse and I rehearse and I rehearse.  I start to dial.  Then I stop.  I pull her name up on my phone but don’t press.  The screen goes black a minute later as I just hold the phone and look at her name.  I walk to my room.  I lay down.  I text a friend, “pray for me.”  I start to dial again.  Can’t do it.  I wonder, ‘are these just nerves or is this God saying “no.”’  I figure its probably me just being lame.

I rehearse again.  I pray.  I dial.

So next time I call, you don’t have to say yes or no.  Just say “thank you, I know what you’ve been through.”

6 thoughts on “Do you know what I went through just to dial your number?!

  1. Thank you for posting this! It’s actually kind of nice to know guys need to gather courage for that first phone call…because being on the receiving side of the phone call isn’t always so easy either; we tend to analyze every comment we’ve made and then replay the whole conversation more than you might ever imagine! Thank you on behalf of girls everywhere. :)

Leave a Reply

