My Love Life: I (words matter…even the little ones)

I had my first crush in pre-school.

She liked me too.

Cute, tall, blonde.

We were a perfect match.

She wrote me a love letter.

I threw it away immediately.

I thought that’s what you do when a girl writes you a love letter.

Yep, I’m still single.  And 30.  …haha

I see you Josh Hanson… getting ready to pop that collar at the ripe age of 4.  In case any of you were wondering where that trend started… now you know

We were fairly honest as kids…about who we liked.  We didn’t mind telling them.  We didn’t mind writing letters.  And if we did mind, we would just chase them on the playground.

The simple days.

I went from being embarrassed that a girl liked me to… wanting everyone to know who likes me…even if I didn’t like them.  It feeds the ego I guess.  “Can you believe she likes me?!”…”oh you didn’t know?”  “Yeah, she’s so into me but I’m not feeling it.”

But on the other side, I think it shows a little more than ego as well.

That note from pre-school.  They were just a few words on a piece of paper.  But they did something to me.  They caused a reaction.  They created emotion.

We go from throwing notes away to keeping notes tucked away.  From being embarrassed to simply cherishing words of encouragement, regardless of who from.  We all like to be liked.  To be wanted.  To know we have something of value to offer another.  And to know someone has seen it.

I’m not going to lie, it can be really tricky affirming someone of the opposite sex without giving mixed signals.  I seem to always be in debate with myself as to when the right time to say something is and how to say and if I should say it…  but I think it is a truly valuable thing and to simply not do it out of fear of how it will be received would cause me to miss a valuable opportunity to let someone know that they are beautiful, that they matter, and that someone noticed.

The key to not send mixed signals:

1 – mean what you say  2 – treat everyone the same  3 – whatever you say to someone individually, you should be able to say to them in a group

If we can cultivate the habit of affirming one another, cherishing what we have to offer each other, and speaking God’s good truth into each other’s lives, we will walk more securely, confidently, and assuredly as we become the men and women God created us to be.  All it takes sometimes, is just a few little words.

4 thoughts on “My Love Life: I (words matter…even the little ones)

Leave a Reply

